NAUGHTY OR NICE: Printing Your Face on a Business Card

Note: this week, I’ll be examining trends in social media and/or philanthropy and attributing a “naughty” or “nice” rating to them. This is the second of five reviews.

Remember that scene in American Psycho where Patrick Bateman and friends swap business cards and swoon over “Bone” backgrounds and “Silian Rail” lettering? A lot has changed since Wall Street of the 1980s – and it hasn’t all been because of the OWS movement.

In today’s business world, we’re all looking for an edge…yet most of us overlook the competitive advantage we can gain from our business cards. Rather than order up another batch of 500 boring corporate cards from Office Services, why aren’t more of us using customization to better create a lasting impression?

What better way to be remembered than by printing your face on your business card?

A few months ago, I used an About.Me perk to order business cards from moo.com. Instead of being forced to use the same corporate information as all of my colleagues, I could completely customize the card’s text. I inserted a QR code to direct people straight to a web page of my choosing. And while there were hundreds of gallery options for the flip side of my card, I decided to let my face do the talking.

As you can see above, I was so enthralled with my custom card that I designed and printed another version. Now, I have a standard size card AND a “mini” card. Again, it’s all about being remembered, so if we’re already thinking outside the box, why not experiment with different images and sizes?

When I hand someone my custom business card, I *always* get a reaction…and most of the time it’s positive. Even if our conversation wasn’t especially memorable, I can count on my card triggering a bit of recognition a day, week or month later. Sure, the words that come out of my mouth may be boring, but who can forget this face?

Don’t we all want to stand out? Don’t we all want to be remembered? While unconventional, my custom business cards are both professional and quirky – actually, they’re a lot like me.

That’s why I say that printing your face on a business card is NICE.

What do you think? Am I participating in an exercise in vanity? Am I being more foolish than innovative? Should Patrick Bateman invite me over for a conversation on 80s pop music? I want to hear your thoughts.

Coming tomorrow: an analysis of who should be running your company’s social media community.

Previously in “Naughty or Nice”:
12/19 – Listing your Klout score on your resume


12 thoughts on “NAUGHTY OR NICE: Printing Your Face on a Business Card

  1. I don’t mind faces on business cards, particularly if I’m at an event where I end up collecting a stack of them. Faces are memorable, as you noted. What gets the attention on my business card is my tagline: be bold. be heard. give back. eat bacon. Bacon always leaves an impression!

  2. I’m kind of anti-picture, but in the real estate industry, EVERYONE does it. In certain industries, like finance, NOBODY does it. I think employees of bigger businesses don’t do it because they rely on the brand behind them. Solo folks have nothing else to rely on. I think it’s kind of cheesy but effective. Best one I saw was of a portrait done in the style of the old Wall Street Journal etchings. That was money.

  3. Pingback: NAUGHTY OR NICE: Social Media Interns | matthewsm1th.com

  4. Pingback: NAUGHTY OR NICE: Social Media Interns | matthewsm1th.com

    • Interesting stuff…thanks for sharing, Dave. One question: you couldn’t find a YouTube video done by someone who speaks English? 😉

  5. Pingback: NAUGHTY OR NICE: Breaking a Promise | matthewsm1th.com

  6. Pingback: NAUGHTY OR NICE: Credit Where it’s Due | matthewsm1th.com

Leave a Reply

